The Kite Runner Book Review

I was trying to find a book to read along with my best friend. There were so many books in the book store, I couldn’t understand which ones to take. If I had it my way, I would just crawl up into a hole along with thousands of novels, away from this world, and read and make up for the lost time until I was bored of looking at it.

While going through the rows of books, reading the summary of the books that I found interesting, my best friend asked if I had read The Kite Runner.
Being an avid reader, me not having read the book till now gained me some surprised looks from her.

She persisted I read it but I was slightly wary for I didn’t know what was it about apart from that the book was based in Afghanistan. And that meant there must be violence. Not being a fan of violence, I was torn between buying Anne Frank’s The diary of a young girl and Khaled Hosseini’s The kite runner. At the end, I went for the latter.

And I absolutely loved it. When she said you will cry while reading I didn’t think I would cry within the first 70 pages itself. For those who haven’t read it, I won’t disclose much though I have the urge to.

The story revolves around two boys, Amir and Hassan. The devotedness of Hassan towards Amir is staggering, mind-boggling, thrillingly beautiful. I wonder if there are such people nowadays. It shows you what true friendship is. Reading the book, you will come to know about the hardships, the brutality suffered by the Afghan people.

This book will keep you on the edge until the end. And when you do end it reading, you will wish you hadn’t finished it so early.

So for all the book lovers, this one is the one to add into your pile of ‘Must Read in your lifetime’.

‘For you, a thousand times over’- The Kiter Runner :’)

image

Prizwørld

6 thoughts on “The Kite Runner Book Review

Leave a Reply

